2020 National Online Selection for Grade 12 School Leavers Selection List for 2021 Admission in HEIs

On behalf of the Minister and the Department of Higher Education Research Science and Technology, I, the undersigned, and DHERST Secretary hereby confirm that the following students, published on this official list are 2020 Grade 12 school leavers selected on academic merit at a tertiary institution of their choice. This list is inclusive of students from the December 22nd, 2020 list as well as students offered a spacing through the Admission Pool.

It is mandatory that all selected and continuing students adhere to and comply with the Admission Policy of the institution selected to. Registration information including compulsory tuition fees must be paid by the student and or sponsor prior to the orientation and registration.

Higher Education Loan Program:

The National Government’s Higher Education Loan Program undergraduate category is available to all tertiary students enrolled at registered higher education institutions. Students wishing to apply for the loan this year must complete HEI registration before declaring intent to apply for the HELP.

For HELP information, contact the Deputy Research & Innovation or the student helpdesk at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Tertiary Education Scholarship Assistance Scheme

By virtue of the powers conferred in Section 165 of the Higher Education (General Provisions) Act of 2014 and all other powers enabling my office, I confirm that the Department of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology will facilitate academic scholarship for these awardees as determined by the terms and conditions for students receiving Tertiary Education Student Assistance Scheme (TESAS) scholarship.

Furthermore, a TESAS holder must at all times behave in a proper manner, abiding by the institutional policies and aspiring to meet expectations of an academic environment where there is order and respect for State authority, state and institutional property, respect for individual rights and freedom provided under the constitution of Papua New Guinea.

TESAS for Year 1 students

Stipulating from HEGPA 2014, the TESAS policy, and the National Government’s budget appropriation of TESAS, new intake TESAS awardees parameters are as follows:


  • Budget allocation
  • Entry GPA from Gr12 is 4.0
  • Registered HEIs and TESAS eligible programs
  • STEM programs prioritized
  • University AES Category: GPA 4.0
  • University HECAS >=2.8 ≠ 4.0
  • HECAS at Non- University: GPA >=2.8 ≠ 4.0
  • Parameter 1 option: GPA >=2.8 for all awardees 


    TESAS Category 



    TESAS (PGK) 

    Value by category


    University AES 






    University HECAS 






    Non- University HEIs 







    (including NON-TESAS  programs)

    6,737 students 




    First year students on TESAS scholarship are advised to adhere to the announcements on their National Online Application System (NOAS) MyStatus page for more information about their scholarship components including ticket travel to their selected institutions for registration.


    TESAS categories of AES and HECAS include travel arrangements to the institution from the port of travel as supplied by the student during the NOAS period. TESAS policy specifies that students commute to and from the HEI must be by air or road.

    For all AES and HECAS awardees air travels in 2021, tickets will be issued by the DHERST through Air Niugini or appropriate airline service.

    For AES and HECAS awardees travelling by road to the HEI of study, you will be required to arrange your own travel by road. However, you are requested to produce receipt of your travel expenses to the DHERST through the HEI student services for reimbursement.

    Should you have any query regarding TESAS policy, Terms and Conditions, please contact the Acting Deputy Secretary Policy and Quality Assurance on email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

    The national government is committed indeed to facilitating access to quality higher education for all eligible and selected students. The Government has therefore committed to investing in the Higher Education Loan Program (HELP). This loan program will future academic years. The Department of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology will communicate the loan program to the general public, once in effect.

    On behalf of the Department, I wish to congratulate all selected students on this academic achievement and government scholarship. We wish you all God’s Blessing in all your endeavours in this academic year.

    Yours sincerely,
    Professor Fr Jan Czuba